ARC Review: Undercover Bromance by Lyssa Kay Adams

Excellent sequel to The Bromance Book Club…

I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Release date: March 10, 2020

Rating: 5/5

Undercover Bromance is only my second read of the new year and it’s already my FIRST 5 star of 2020!! If you thought you loved Mack in The Bromance Book Club, wait until you read Undercover Bromance!! Lyssa Kay Adams is certainly doing her part in helping destroy toxic masculinity one book after the other. I wish all romance novels were like the books in this series.

In this installment, the bros are reading a romantic suspense novel that obviously has some parallels with Mack and Liv’s love story. Mack, Liv, and the bros work together to bring down Liv’s former boss who is a disgusting human being. Lyssa Kay Adams has mastered the art of writing funny romantic comedies that also deal with serious topics in a respectful and conscientious manner. This book deals with the multiple facets of sexual harassment and sexual assault in the workplace. The author presents this topic in all of its complexity by depicting how multilayered it actually is and how women are affected by it. She also shows how women have different approaches to dealing with this issue, how it can be hard to put yourself in their shoes, and how it can be easy for other people to judge them.

Undercover Bromance is fiction so you obviously have to suspend disbelief at times, but this book is just so much fun to read! The romance was perfect. Liv and Mack are so good together. The banter is GOLD!! Mack is a fantastic hero and I know you will all love him even more than you did in The Bromance Book Club. However, some of you might have a hard time liking Liv. To be honest, I didn’t like her at all in The Bromance Book Club, but I liked her in Undercover Bromance. I especially enjoyed her character growth. Liv is cranky, grumpy, and all hard edges and she has serious trust issues. But Mack is the perfect guy for her. He softens her edges and knows exactly how to get under her skin and into her heart. Liv has come a long way since The Bromance Book Club. She’s an impulsive character who doesn’t always think things through before opening her mouth. She gets called out for her behaviour and for the things she says and the beauty of it all is that she learns from her mistakes. I appreciated her character arc a lot and if there’s one thing I love reading in books, it is stellar character development. Mack also has his own issues that he has to deal with and he has his own character arc, which added a lot more depth to his characterization. We discover that there is a lot more to Mack than meets the eye and I love that he’s so much more than the charming guy who flirts around.

As for the bros, I love all of them SO MUCH!! I just want to read 10+ books about them!! There are also some new characters that are introduced in this book and I’m hoping we’ll see more of them! I really hope the author will be publishing more bromance books. The bros are my FAVOURITE and I wish I was friends with them all!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started